To theme or not to theme?

Every Friday night I sit in front of the TV with a glass of wine or mimosa and watch Bride Day on TLC.

Every episode of “Say Yes to the Dress: Atlanta” starts out with the Bride-to-Be sitting in the lobby of Bridals by Lori with her entourage. The consultant comes out and asks “who is the bride and what are we looking for today?”

Cue the bride explaining her wedding theme.Image

Does everyone have a theme? The most common ones I’ve seen are vintage, bling, diamonds, winter wonderland and romantic. Is romantic even really a theme? Aren’t all weddings supposed to be romantic? Some of the more extreme have been Halloween, Mardi Gras and Princess.

What is a girl to do? I have no idea what theme I would even choose. I’ve seen some gorgeous vintage themed weddings, but I feel like that’s not really me.

I think of myself as a very traditional bride. I want the white dress, long veil and a cathedral ceremony. I will be adding little hints of my personality throughout the ceremony and reception, but I’m not going to go too crazy.

I don’t know if a themed wedding is for me. Maybe I’ll just skip over that all together.

Have you seen any amazing wedding themes? Or maybe you had a theme of your own. Feel free to share!

Leave a Reply

